VM Junkie

January 28, 2009

Why you should install PowerShell on your Windows VM Templates

Filed under: esx, microsoft, powershell, vmware — ermac318 @ 11:19 am

So I was up last night when the VI Toolkit 1.5 was released, and I was so excited I updated my demos this morning to use it. The company I work for does Technical Briefings for current and potential customers, and I just demonstrated the new Storage VMotion capabilities of Move-VM in front of 100+ people. Worked like a champ! Thanks VI Toolkit team.

But what I’m most excited about is this command in the 1.5 Toolkit:

Invoke-VMScript

Executes the specified PowerShell script in the guest OS of each of the specified virtual machines. The virtual machines must be powered on and have PowerShell and VM Tools installed. In order to authenticate with the host or the guest OS, one of the HostUser/HostPassword (GuestUser/GuestPassword) pair and HostCredential (GuestCredential) parameters must be provided.

This, I think, uses the VIX framework in the back end to run a PowerShell script inside a VM. This is unbelievably powerful. I can’t wait to start testing it out. I highly recommend everyone check out the release notes for
the new version!

Blog at WordPress.com.

